I caught up with Max Söderholm, guitar player, singer and front man of “Det svenska soulministeriet” or as they call themselves in English: The Swedish ministry of Soul. We had a chat about their sometimes heated disagreements,their absolute favorite place to play live and their plans for the future.

To start off, what is the story of your band and how did you all come together as The Swedish ministry of soul?

The current formation was started December 2011, after quite some time searching for the right guys. The lineup isn’t really consistent and members come and go from time to time. But the core of the band remains. I never let go of the idea and concept of a Swedish, decision making rock and roll organ. The band is made up of Jack Edgren on guitar and backing vocals, Andrew Wilczek on Piano, Albin Carlstedt on drums and last but not least me, responsible for guitar and vocals.

The band name is an attempt to capture the spirit of the whole thing, not just a cool name for a band. The ministry of soul, a force to be reckoned with no matter what happens in terms of personal change or new musical directions. What we got is soul, in the broadest term possible.

What have you been up to lately?

Since there hasn’t been much playing, gig wise or in the studio I have been trying to compose a bundle of songs of such musical and lyrical strength that I can stand for them, now as well as in say 20 years.

Are you planning on recording an EP soon?

We have a few songs half done, but I’m really anxious to get it out there. I think we need to pick up the pace, otherwise we will be forgotten without ever taking the chance to be remembered in the first place.

In the future, when you go on tour, if you could chose any city worldwide to play a gig: where would that be?

Gothenburg, god I love that city…It has some sort of mythical value to me, because I saw Bruce Springsteen there back in 2003 and that was it really. Nobody has meant as much to me in terms of inspiration, not even close. Just being on stage in that fair city would bring back all these memories, and make me feel closer to that big dream.Pathetic, you got it, but rock`n`roll romanticism is pathetic and absolutely wonderful.

Do you think having a Swedish band name can cause you some problems with reaching out to an international crowd?

Oh yeah, hell, the language barrier, but really for me it’s not about going worldwide. The Swedish language in rock`n`roll is still pretty unexplored and for me as the principal lyricist, there is no alternative. If I try to write anything in English…I have tried, but I cant reach the same heights there as in my native language. But if you are good enough, you can conquer Scandinavia and maybe (just maybe) parts of Germany. Then you’re alright.

Do you have any crazy/funny stories from gigs, rehearsals or about the other band members? 

Me and Andrej (pianist,composer,producer,brother in arms) go way back. Several times our verbal arguments have turned in to nasty fistfights, but that has really been fuel to our creative relationship. Keith and Mick would of course be the natural duo to compare us with but…I am way to humble!

What do you wish to mediate with your music and what are recurring themes?

Well, trying to stay away from romantic love. Not intentionally but I am often motivated by anger and despair, and songs about missing a girl…I don’t know, if its not really good it becomes just another Max Marinesque radio filler. So really…growing up, disappointments, society versus us individuals that make up society. I think I did mention Springsteen, so yeah…try to make people to listen to the lyrics really. Easier said than done, but if you sing in Swedish, people tend to actually listen to and comprehend the words.

You recorded a musicvideo for the song “Tung säsong”. Are you planning any more music videos for upcoming material?

Yeah, videos are important to us. Me and my brother do all the work, produce them ourselves and that’s something I take real pride in. If you wanna get it done, do it yourself, that’s really all there is to it. Every song is getting a video, that’s some kind of motto to us. Today I think you need to serve your music with something more. Pretty sad really, but we produce the videos ourselves and its really fun, although a lot of extra work. Most importantly it is a good way for us to become recognized, and whatever all these indie type people might tell you: You’re not in this if you aren’t at least semi-attention whore.

Yeah, you make movies as well on the side of music? Creative brothers huh?

Yeah, some kind of multitasking Gallagher’s.Its all about making a life for myself ; a life I can live with and look back on with pride. Really simple, but I think people tend to forget that its not eternal. We’re all going down, so I don’t want to waste a minute here on earth. Hence, this big, unrealistic dreaming.

Do you have a manager assigned to book you in for gigs?

Well, my brother is supposed to do that, but he’s this busy media hot-shot so it’s been pretty dead lately, but honestly this summer has been more about playing and singing for the sheer love of rock n roll than any real goals. But we are working on it and sometime soon we will be going to Malmö to play full band or unplugged. We haven’t decided yet but southern Sweden can expect at least my arrival.

Other than Springsteen, what are your influences?

Really old men, haha! Nah, but Stones of course, Tom Petty, Stax and Motown Soul, Swedish 90s indie. I love me some Depeche Mode and Pet Shop Boys too so it is pretty diverse. A good song is always a good song and I love a good song! Jazz, electro and Indian ragas as well. Whatever, if it strikes that special nerve, I like it and put it in my inspiration bank .

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

So i’m the wordsmith and the other guys are true, kick ass musicians and that combination is really something. A small, simple idea can grow into a real showstopper with our combined talents. The future is quite a scary as concept to me, haha. I know I will be swinging that Telecaster, screaming my lungs out somewhere, no matter the circumstances.

 Are you planning on signing to a label?

Well, we’re not really there yet, but I personally think that we’re getting back to where it all started from: the live shows. That’s where the heart is, that’s where rock n roll really comes to it’s right. But of course we are looking into it, but we wont get on our big quest until’ we have something like an EP`s worth of material. After that well…I’m listening to any offers haha. What I mean is, to really break through today, you need to give people something to remember. I’ve seen so many decent rock shows, but just a few excellent. The great ones aren’t just great nights out, but treasured memories that I will carry with me forever. Here, it’s time for one last mention: No one takes the stage as The Boss, and I think anybody with an ambition to play live should study him: I sure have.

The Swedish Ministry Of Soul will be playing at Big Ben, Söder, Stockholm in the Autumn. Dont miss out on checking them out! Keep up to date with their facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/detsvenskasoulministeriet